Poets logo

Burning

by H.Z.Herrington

By H Zane HerringtonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
4
Burning
Photo by Adam Wilson on Unsplash

The frustration and stress have me bursting at the seams

I feel boiling deep within my soul

I want to curse into the night and scream

I want to claw and tear at myself because I feel unworthy

I feel as though I can't escape

As though I'm not allowed time to myself

And if I find ways to express this burning

I'm labeled a danger to myself

Or to my family

I feel like I'm on fire and the bucket of water is pulled farther from me

I feel these flames are only suppressed but never extinguished

These raging embers lie in wait until they can burst forth again

Burst into a wildfire and burn my soul to nothing.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.