Poets logo

Bully

Sticks and stones may break my bones....

By Shaye B.Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Bully
Photo by Ilayza on Unsplash

So, there's this bully

Or I have a bully

And she just won't quit

Now I know typically

You grow up and the bullies fade

But what about the ones that you live with?

You see

The past 23 years I've been in a hostage situation

And I think I've tried every form of negotiation

Talking of course

Hands up, using no force

Making sure to show her

I pose no threat

Because if I show anything

Resembling an ounce of strength

Well then, I'm asking for it

Now a lot of people would probably ask

"Uh, hello! Why don't you kick that bitches' ass?"

Now of course that's always an option

But there's a small complication

See my very first bully

An unrelenting tormentor

Just so happens to share my blood

That's right

It's my mother

Now let's be clear

Her status does not put me in fear

It's just pressures of being socially acceptable

Because it you remember in school

Dealing with bullies always involved rules

Because for bullies there was always an excuse

They always had "low self-esteem"

Or always had "a rough time at home"

They were always "jealous" or "lashing out"

Because deep down they were "insecure"

And when your bully's family the stipulations are doubled because

"She's your mom" is always an excuse

Followed by the ever-popular lie "You know she loves you"

But has anyone ever once considered that maybe people are just mean?

Not everyone has a tragic past

Not everyone has a tortured soul

Some people are just born heartless and cruel

Some people are just born cold

And even with all the BS I've been told

Reasons, excuses, blah, blah, blah

Truthfully all I want to know is

Why?

One word

A loaded question

Buzzing around my head like a million angry bees

Each denial of the obvious

Another painful sting

It's okay to acknowledge

What society says is impossible

To hate your flesh and blood

It's fine

We can move past it

Maybe learn to interact

Just tell me

"Why?"

Scientist can speculate

Family can theorize

"Maybe she sees herself in you

The part she hates"

"Maybe's she's jealous"

"Maybe it's all in your head"

"Maybe it's your disrespect"

All anyone can really do is guess

Because the look in your eyes

Is what give my heart so much unrest

Because honestly

What level of disrespect

Could ever warrant

A death wish to your young child

What level of disrespect

Could ever warrant

Shots fired around my toddler head

And what fucking level

Of disrespect

Could ever fucking warrant

You treating your daughter

As more than currency

Traded for drugs

Casually

Callously

For merchandise

My young body

On display

Heart shredded

Body destroyed

Innocence stolen

Ruined

For what?

What was the point?

What was the purpose?

Why?

One little word

Causes so much distress

And It's pressure

Just building

And Building

Because ever "Why"

Is another second

A "tick"

On this bomb

That is bracing

For an implosion

Desecrating the entire city

And all neighboring towns

Bitch you tried to break me

Tried to end me

Tried to kill my soul

And after all the years

Of torture

I've survived

And I'll learn to thrive

Because my grace is timeless

My laughter

Unforgettable

My smile

Infectious

Cause your evil

Will dissipate

and my strength

Will carry on

excerptsheartbreakperformance poetrysad poetryslam poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Shaye B.

Welcome to my trainwreck. I'm Shaye B and I'm pleased to make your aquaintence. I learned to read before I could talk and learned to write because I couldn't scream. I haven't quite learned to scream yet so I'll continue to write until then

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shaye B.Written by Shaye B.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.