Poets logo

Bullet Holes

Just a touch (Poppy's Challenge No. 2)

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago 1 min read
21
Bullet Holes
Photo by Dan Wayman on Unsplash

Once more, the prompt:

Braille? Yes, that was my thought

Reverse Braille that you have to dig

Through until you reach some meaning

And messages arrive on time.

*

Loud Braille? Is that a thing?

My head hurts but not from the touch

Of those words I’m still looking for

Even as I write down in this space.

*

Victimized again? You can read me

All those gaps in skin like papyrus;

Skin that becomes yellowed and dead

And you read me now taking my lines

.

.

.

Something left to touch…

In a crowd, there's always one...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

sad poetrysocial commentaryheartbreakElegy
21

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Halden Mile4 months ago

    Braille...a unique alphabet.

  • Catherine Nyomenda4 months ago

    I salute anyone with skills in using braille well. This is a good poem.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Um, so a killer in a crowd of otherwise oblivious people seeking out a victim, or a victim seeing the killer coming. Many perspectives to this one.

  • Victimized again? You can read me All those gaps in skin like papyrus; Skin that becomes yellowed and dead And you read me now taking my lines These lines were my favourite! Your poem was poignant and evocative! I loved it!

  • Carol Townend4 months ago

    That is fantastic writing, and I love how the sensation of touch is related to feelings. I am guessing this is about not being able to see but being able to feel.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    You've made me wonder whether poetry is a different experience if you have to touch it.

  • And all it takes is one....

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Kendall, you know how I AM WITH POEMS SO DON'T TAKE IT PERSONAL IF I don't get it.

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Wow, this was so creative and well done. "Victimized again? You can read me All those gaps in skin like papyrus; Skin that becomes yellowed and dead And you read me now taking my lines" This was my favourite stanza. So impactful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.