Poets logo

The Insult

Abecedarian Vocal Challenge No. 2

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago 1 min read
15
The Insult
Photo by Reno Laithienne on Unsplash

Am I deaf and

Blind, sir?

Can you tell me that you

Did not just say what I heard? My

Ears are just

Fine. Did you really…?

Give me a break,

Huh?

I know when a

Jerk is a jerk.

Kicking a man when he’s down doesn’t

Leave a bad taste in your mouth

(Mixing metaphors again – watch it)?

Never mind…

Oh, and if I

Plant one on you…

Quit it!

Really, you must be

Someone who does not

Think before they speak.

Ugly thoughts make

Very bad actions, sir.

We should probably do it here

(“X” marks the spot).

You make your move…or

Zip it!

Indeed...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Request Feedbacksocial commentaryProseFree VerseFirst Draft
15

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    People! Great and cruel. I prefer great and kind. Nice poem, Kendall!

  • Catherine Nyomenda4 months ago

    Make your move or zip it. Hah! Nice poem.

  • Ayumi4 months ago

    I’m under the weather lying on the bed and reading it. Maybe it wasn’t supposed to, but it made me smirk. Enjoy it. Thank you!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Brilliant. Crossing my fingers for you.

  • I'm sorry, Kendall. I didn't mean to. But you're welcome to mop up the floor with me if it'll make you feel better. Even if I didn't actually do anything to you, I'm sure I'm guilty of something else. Okay, now that's off my chest, really well done, Kendall!

  • Some people are like that. Loved your poem!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Ooo, good one, Kendall.

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    I'm fuming right beside you. People who use that line are usually the ones who are the most insecure and can't see beyond their own egos. Tinted glasses, you know?

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I feel quite chastened! That told him!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.