Poets logo

Bruised

a poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Bruised
Photo by Marianna Smiley on Unsplash

If just a drop of blood can stain,

why are your palms not darkened by my pain?

You left my ego bruised and worn,

whilst yours is continuously reborn.

Your arms are full as you've taken your fill,

yet you're always ready for more blood to spill.

Isn't it exhausting to be the shadow looming over our light?

You're the worst horror in the darkness of night.

The nightmares when I finally sleep,

are nowhere near as terrifying as the secrets you keep.

I've conquered oh so many of my phobias & fears

and still my body tenses at your name after all these years.

I've painted layer over layer to erase you from my portrait

yet you keep popping up like a tarot card I always misinterpret.

The buises you marked on my soul may never fade,

but I'm still glad I left...Imagine if I stayed?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.