Poets logo

Broken Souls

Are we all broken in some way?

By colourtheashesPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Broken Souls
Photo by Aimee Vogelsang on Unsplash

Perfectly trapped in a body,

that doesn't protect.

My heart so fragile,

easily shattered,

into tiny pieces,

that couldn't be mend.

The bruises left,

all over them,

they don't go away,

unless I heal them.

What's done is done,

I cannot forget.

It's part of me,

a part of me that haunts me.

Put the pieces together,

like a puzzle,

too many of them,

not sure where it goes.

Tried my best,

to put them together,

finished halfway,

feeling exhausted.

Another lonely soul,

tried to figure it out,

no luck though,

it left me alone.

Half of me now,

going around,

acting like I feel complete,

but I feel empty.

Half of me,

tried her best again.

Fixed the remaning,

now she's finished.

Tape the pieces together,

to make it look better.

Still see cracks.

It annoys me,

to see them there.

Fake a smile,

trying to hide the pain.

Everyone thinks we are fine,

but inside we are suffering.

No one knows,

no one can comprehend.

No one can help,

but only myself.

Tape wears off again,

I am left in pieces again.

Just let me cry again,

and I feel better right away.

Always need to be fixed,

not a handyman.

Still learning how to be my own man.

Time to change,

the way I fix,

so the pieces,

won't fall again.

Glue them up,

they seem to stick.

But they still look broken to me.

Put it aside,

because I am scared.

Scared that it will break anytime again.

Like a broken doll,

waiting to be loved,

to make myself lovable again.

Nobody likes,

a broken doll.

Broken themselves,

broken overall.

Broken dolls,

sitting in the corner.

Not trying anymore,

not crying anymore.

Broken vases,

broken walls,

nothing as broken as our fearful souls.

Broken souls,

all alone,

trapped in a body,

waiting to be free.

slam poetry
5

About the Creator

colourtheashes

Sharing what I feel, good & bad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.