Poets logo

Home

It is always with me.

By colourtheashesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Home
Photo by Caique Silva on Unsplash

A place where I am best,

where I truly belong.

I can always play hide and seek,

with ugly creatures and entities.

Like a station where I can recharge,

a library filled with bits and pieces.

A space where everything is possible,

like flying books and singing fairies.

Calm and chaotic,

like an ocean with layers and depths.

Treasures to be discovered,

mysteries to uncover.

Pleasant and terrifying,

but I always come back to it.

When my voice grew deep,

I lost my home.

Left home for awhile,

searching for another one.

Home was calling out to me,

but I was deaf.

Like a bee searching for its flower,

I thought I found home at last!

But I was a child,

'home' was a wolf disguised as sheep.

The wolf presented itself,

I fled for my life.

Thank lord I was a great escapist,

the wolf disappeared forever.

I left ‘home’ again,

with no signboards to guide me,

thick fog surrounding me,

something was about to consume me.

By Jakub Kriz on Unsplash

Demons are mocking me,

monsters are constantly haunting me,

the devil is watching me,

laughing sinisterly.

All alone,

nobody sees me.

I see myself,

but I don’t feel me.

A familiar voice called out to me,

begging me to listen.

This time loud and clear,

angry yet reassuring.

Then it hit me,

it is always with me.

The sun appeared,

and the fog disappeared.

Goodbye everyone,

I am going home!

By Daoudi Aissa on Unsplash

I found you again,

my long lost best friend.

I cried a bucket,

you gave me a pat on the back.

Not what I imagined when I was a child,

not brick walls that provide shelter.

Not that I have to search for,

because it's right there,

I just missed it sometimes.

Not a physical place,

but a feeling within.

Thank you my home,

you made me feel alive.

Thank you my home,

for always being there for me!

fact or fiction
8

About the Creator

colourtheashes

Sharing what I feel, good & bad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.