Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Broken

A poem & photograph about a car accident.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 23 days ago 1 min read
1
Image by Nagoh Creative

before the pieces fell

before the sound of it all

my whole inside starts to swell

the silence was broken by your call

I heard the glass hit the ground

a desperate cry of pain and fear

a mournful siren on its way

hopes are dashing on this day

as the rain is pouring down

my world, my heart, it starts to drown

and all I know to do for you

is get back up and find the clues

Thank you for taking the time to read this poem and soak in the image associated with it. I wrote this and took the picture while I was sitting in the car in a parking spot close to a busy intersection downtown during a torrential downpour. There was just something in the air about the dangers of all that was around me. This is what inspired this scenario. Being in a car accident can be a very traumatic experience. It is very important to process such emotions healthily.

Mental Health
1

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    Such a poignant poem. I loved both your poem and photo!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.