Poets logo

Bridge

A Bridge With You

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Like

When we were young and the streams were small

Our bridges were stones, we could cross on a crawl

Crossing was easy it didn't hurt at all.

Then the streams turn to rivers and waterfalls.

The rivers grow wide, we take the time to cross.

It isn't always easy; journeys come at a cost.

We get older, we need more than rocks and moss,

I want a truss of trust to get to you without loss.

.

So we build a bridge. I want to-

Build a bridge with you.

.

Now the work takes time, it won't be easy to do,

I can bear the weight as you need me to,

I brought the timber, your design came through,

Can we work all day to build this bridge anew?

There are cuts, and burns, muscle aches.

The work moves slow for all the time it takes.

But I hear your voice and every sound it makes!

This truss of trust has left too much at stake.

.

As we build a bridge. I ask to-

Build a bridge with you.

.

Then the hammer fell, the work came to a stop

Was it worth the work or was it all for naught?

Our bridge broke down, the gorge has grown wide!

I'm at the base of the steps, you're on the other side!

.

I ask for a bridge. I need you-

I'm asking you to go!

To go and build a bridge-

Go, go, go, go!

You let me take you on a journey there!

But all I wanted was a bridge-

Rebuild that bridge.

That bridge with you.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.