Poets logo

Breakfast

A breakfast in an IHOP.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Breakfast
Photo by Dani Rendina on Unsplash

Incense set my living room on fire

But I was busy looking into the coffee,

Remembering that one day

When my heart broke over pancakes.

.

It wasn't the din of the dishes clattering

In the kitchen behind our booth

Or the strange, wafting smell of the amalgamation

Of all the other breakfasts bothering me.

.

I was agitated by the scrape of a too-nice shirt

On skin used to broken-in, second-hand clothes.

The strawberries were drenched in red syrup.

And you were sitting there, flirting with the waitress.

.

Because my talk had bored you.

My ten seconds of fame were ten too many.

It was a silly little command too.

Tell me more about it.

.

Doesn't that mean that I can speak?

Isn't that the green light go of conversation?

I told the moon about you the night before.

And there I was, telling a stupid story.

.

Should have known.

From the dusty, untouched bookshelf

To the bad bourbon and the messy floors.

I was a practice run.

.

Maybe for the waitress or her sister or friend

Or some absolute stranger in my universe

With the same brown hair and dull grey-blue eyes

That made me such a perfect test.

.

Silver Serpent Books

.

performance poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Testabout a year ago

    So sad and evocative. Beautifully done, Silver Serpent 💕🙂

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.