Poets logo

Imagined

What if the best days of my life were imagined? Just a little game of make-believe.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Imagined
Photo by Ramiro Pianarosa on Unsplash

Empty with a lowercase "e"

And quiet with a large "Q",

The space behind my eyes rings

With the quiet emptiness.

.

I dream of summer days

That never really existed

And soft touches that were imagined,

Dreamt beneath a cloudy sky.

.

But the smoke from the fire

We held to our lips was real.

The vile taste and cool touch of the can

Wasn't something I conjured up.

.

Those days never existed.

They were filaments floating

On the golden current of sinister words

Filling the cabin with water.

.

I drowned alone on those leather seats

Without ever stepping out of the car.

The airbags didn't deploy.

The windows didn't crack.

.

A bullet was shot through my chest

And I am empty, empty, emptied.

These words are a cycle,

The same sort of sounds smoothed together

With the wet cement of lies.

No stanza can hold the pain pouring

From words coated in gasoline,

The flickering match in my hand.

.

Silver Serpent Books

.

I usually try to give my poems some amount of closure nowadays but this particular poem is much closer to how I used to write when I first started poetry. Let me know what you think!

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • John Kabout a year ago

    I think the open ending is cool and brings an interesting attitude to the piece!

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.