Poets logo

Break Up in a Digital Age

Introspection on heartbreak in the internet world

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
11
Break Up in a Digital Age
Photo by Yeshi Kangrang on Unsplash

She’s still in my contact list, I almost texted her today

Though I had no idea what I would send or say

I thought I was in love, but she had different dreams

Reached in my chest, shredded my heart at the seams

Now I have pictures on Facebook, tweets on my phone

Which I look at and read whilst crying alone

I play with pixels and fonts and post a few memes

Facebook, Twitter, SnapChat, SCREAMS

I love to hate her and hate to love her

Not long ago my heart held no one above her

Today there’s someone new on her profile pic

In a new relationship, the thought makes me sick

I can’t really blame him, I know the power of her gaze

She’d just look at me and I’d be in a daze

Was she already seeing him before she tore me apart?

Was I blind to the signs, or just not very smart?

My family and friends all told me she wasn’t any good

Leave her before she destroys you – they all said I should

But I lived for her each day, dreamed of her each night

So far under my skin, with any dissenter I would fight

Now I have no one but the internet to reach out to

Friends of ex-friends with nothing better to do

So, to these random people - a universe of strangers - I rant

Still, properly express my sorrow and pain I find that I can’t

Most just give platitudes and tell me to move on

But they don’t know where I’ll be come the next dawn

Now I post one last pic with Public Privacy, this gun in my hand

Will she cry when she reads the caption: “Goodbye to this cold, cruel land”?

heartbreaklove poemssad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage2 years ago

    Well written ! Thanks for sharing. Take a look at my stories :) thank you

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Every third or fourth line my inner dialog was "been there done that"! A heartfelt and extremely relatable tale we all share at one time or another (if we are lucky!) Kudos!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.