Poets logo

Boundaries

Not Up For Debate

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Boundaries
Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

Foreshadowing the conversation

He asked me about my last relationship

"I broke up with my ex in May last year."

"So that was recent?"

*

"Yeah, it was easy."

"What do you mean?"

*

"He was a coke dealer."

"It was easy to let him go."

it was only hard when he wouldn't leave me alone."

*

"He had me fooled at first, a real sweet talker."

"Roped me in with spirituality and conscious conversation,

but it was all a beautiful facade."

"I fell into a false love, and stayed too long."

*

"He never deserved my love."

"He didn't treat me right. Broke my trust early on."

"The most he could offer me was sex, drugs, and sweet lies."

"An addiction to a feeling."

"It was easy to leave

when I remembered I didn't need him."

*

Our conversation drifted for a minute

to something different

*

Looking at the time ticking

I said goodbye to him for the year

He leaned in and tried to kiss me

I stopped him calmly

*

With ease in my voice I said,

"You know that part of our relationship is over."

"Remember what I said last time?"

"I meant every word."

*

He raised his voice in distaste

in his last desperation

to sit me down for a chat

as I walked away

"It hurts when you say all these things."

*

I let him blabber on

for 10 minutes

Spewing meaningless bullshit

in an attempt to win me back

*

Listening to his lies out of curiosity

Waiting for the silence to ring clear

*

With soft eyes I spoke,

"I'm sorry if the words I said hurt you

but I meant every word."

*

"The difference between you and I

is that to get what you want

you tell me all the things you think I want to hear

when I say everything I really feel."

"Telling you all the things you need to hear

just to keep it real."

*

Anxiety beating through his skull

draining out his throat

he snapped,

"Can we talk about this later?"

*

"This isn't a debate."

"I made up my mind."

"We can talk later to clear up confusion,

but I have to go now."

*

He opened his mouth

with his rebuttal

*

I stopped him as soon as he started

"This isn't an argument."

"These are my boundaries."

"We're done here."

"Is that clear?"

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.