Poets logo

Trust

"Getting A Scorpio To Trust You Is Like Feeding A Stray Dog."-OP

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Trust
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Wavering

back and forth

*

Waves lapping

onto shore

Water pulling

out to sea

*

I told him

I know where my trust lies

but I have a hard time

trusting new eyes

New faces

with unclear intentions

*

I feel them

but I let my mystery shine

Like the dark side of the moon

I only share those hidden parts of me

to those who travel the distance

through the vacuum of space

past the stars of my galaxy

*

I keep the sensitive details

about my life private

Ones people take for granted

The ones I used to publicly announce in my youth

when someone asked me "ASL"

in a Yahoo chat room

*

To keep me safe from

being found by the ones

who have been after me

since I fell off the map

*

Well intended people can unknowingly

give the right information to the wrong people

who have been planning your demise

*

I let my mystery shine

because even initially well intended people

can succumb to selfishness

and birth betrayal into something beautiful

*

The most delicate ones

can turn villainous

when they are unable to uphold their soul

through the cruelty of the world

*

That’s why the Grinch stole Christmas

*

He was different

with a heart of gold

Yet the cruelty of the world caused

his heart to shrivel into a raisin

Sent his mind in discord

*

I know where my trust lies

but I am hesitant to trust new eyes

because I know how often

the average person tells lies

*

He reassured me

I have every right to

be a little skittish

with everything

I have been through

*

He reassured me

trust is earned

Something

you just don’t

give away to people

*

True trust

is hard to come by

when you have a gentle soul

*

It’s the reason why in the past

I have hardened my shell

*

True trust

with someone

is something I hold dear

*

I trust myself

but trusting others

is one of my fears

*

Did I say too much?

Can I trust you?

Questions I often revisit

Sometimes I am unsure with intentions unclear

but in time my white water rivers will run clear

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.