Poets logo

Borderline to Borderline

A poem.

By Braven MarksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by @dintino_gianluca

You believe you're cursed child

But I know the truth

There's a beautiful soul behind the fear

Who's screaming to get through

Grasping for identity

Searching for the real you

Dissimulate to hide the flaws

A different mask for each new day

No semblance of serenity

Mastering mimicry, monstrous

Inside feeling desolate

Ravenous for them to want us

Stuck behind the pain of the past

Never finding love that lasts

Push, pull, placate

believing it’s your fate

Those you love will walk away

Wishing one will someday stay

I tried to break the chains

I tried to free you from this fate

My hands are torn and bloody now

From trying to break through

And I can’t open up the door

But I’ll be here trying forever more

There is hope for you

and for all of us

To be self aware and loved

Unlocking knowledge deep within

Acknowledging the part of us

All of the subconscious beliefs

Attest to your validity

Confirm it’s always been

I don’t know what I can do

Except to hold space for you

‘Cause I don’t hold the keys….

Only you do

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Braven Marks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.