Poets logo

Bondslave

Time's Possession

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Bondslave

Not a moment goes by that I don’t surrender,

To the passing of time and its sweet splendor.

For to live each day at the crest of the wave,

Is to understand that I’m time’s bondslave.

With its angry moments, confusion, and grief,

It often causes me to question my belief.

But in the end, I will vanish away,

Proving once again that it has the last say.

So until that day, the hour, that time appointed,

I will live my life to the fullest being an anointed.

A person chosen or selected or arbitrarily gifted,

To spread the good word to those being sifted.

It’s my time, my mission as if I were an adventurer,

To tell those I meet that we’re more than conquerors.

To tell them that are under siege and waning asunder,

To keep their head up though there’s rain and thunder.

For this too shall pass into the fabric of past times,

Leaving only fragments of yourself, changing paradigms.

It’s not what was said but more what was done,

That will leave the mark of your time in the sun.

Be encouraged, be steadfast in your quest that’s ahead,

For to turn from the plow and look back causes dread.

Be faithful to your calling whatever it may be,

For to have lived in the sun, another day to see.

Is your reason for being, for breathing, and being free.

For Astrid

vintageinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, I love writing novels (fiction) and poetry that will become my

legacy for my grandchild.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.