Poets logo

Blue

An ode to feeling blue

By Vincent Paul Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo Credit: Maxine G

I don’t think I’ve ever felt blue until I unmet you.

But after you and I said goodbye, I stepped back into black and white.

Living in shades of murky grey and walking under dim light, color has never been the same.

Because when I unmet you, I felt blue.

Because for so long I laid in a blacked-out room.

The curtains blanketed the light of both sun and moon.

Dashes of darkness brought me comfort but covered all color in sight.

Day and night, I felt blue after I unmet you.

With lackluster eyes, I saw weeping willows.

Periodic clouds in the sky, the sun, and sunflowers.

Especially the sunflowers. He’d stick those golden yellow flowers in his hair.

Elements of color existed but color was erased from my sight.

Erased after feeling blue, after I unmet you.

I’ve never seen color fade so quickly, dissolving like cotton candy in water.

Color just Evaporated.

Because after you color did not ignite.

Without you, I felt blue.

I'm not sure if this is optimism or observation,

but I saw some color on a greyscale.

Yesterday I noticed the color on the roots of a blue oat tree poking through the concrete.

I slowly saw color after feeling blue, after I unmet you.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Vincent Paul

Just a lefty who likes to write

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Vincent Paul (Author)2 years ago

    This poem was written based on the color blue for the Color writing challenge.

Vincent Paul Written by Vincent Paul

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.