Poets logo

Dopamine

<3

By Vincent Paul Published 4 months ago 1 min read
chemical bond for dopamine

I've been through many men and not one compares to him.

He loves hidden gems and medicine.

I can't ignore the signs - it crawls under my skin

and he's got me feelin'.

Feelin' like I'm human.

I can't undo what you did to me.

There's something in the water, weed and gin.

It's a curse - it's dopamine.

I can't deny the look in your eyes.

when you look at me that way.

Something about you I just can't shake.

But tell me, do you feel it inside?

There was a time you didn't feel alive.

you walked in the dark alone

and heard voices on the road.

you had reasons to burn the town.

But here, you'll have a home.

Somewhere you won't feel alone.

You can stay until your voice runs thin, and the music won't play.

Your bones start to hurt and your hair turns gray.

I'll turn your nights to day.

For Fun

About the Creator

Vincent Paul

Just a lefty who likes to write

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    This is a darkly fantastic poem! Well written!

  • This started off very lovely and became creepy towards the end, lol. I'm so sorry if that's not what you intended. Loved your poem!

Vincent Paul Written by Vincent Paul

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.