Poets logo

Blue Moon

In Honor and Memory of ASTRO's Moon Bin, one of my all-time favorite musical artists and a lovely person overall, gone far too soon.

By Lizzy RosePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Blue Moon
Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

Note: Before this piece, I would love to provide some background. Today, April 19th, 2023, Moon Bin of the K-Pop group ASTRO passed away. At the time of writing this, an official cause of death has not been determined, but it was believed to be a taking of his own life. I have been sitting with myself all day, trying to process everything, and I couldn't help but want to do what I do best, and that is take to the page. This poem is in honor of Moon Bin, and features titles of some of Astro/Moon Bin's songs worked into it. In case anyone does not understand the referenced songs, I will have a list of them at the bottom.

Though it is currently still unknown if Moon Bin's death was by his own hand, please remember that if any of you are ever in any kind of danger or feeling depressed, it is always better to find somebody, anybody to talk to. It may not seem so, but life is magical once you work some magic. Don't let the ugliness of it take away the beauty of a life you deserve. If nobody else, I love you, and you deserve to experience that magic this world has to offer just as much as any of us.

Moon Bin, thank you for every second of the ride and everything you were in this world. You have always been and will forever be a star in my sky, even if you did not know it. This one is for you <3

Who are we

to crown ourselves

the rulers of another's path?

Lonely comets fizzling out

feed on the light

of stars and Fireworks,

their fire trickling down like a waterfall,

burying beauty in ash.

Not my First Love,

but one of my strongest,

most cherished,

and I wish you could Stay With Me

for just 24 Hours more.

I would sit with you All Day,

and wipe from your mind

every harsh word heard by your ears

and fallen from their mouths.

I would recreate the Story of your life,

carving out a new one you deserved.

Forever, You and Me.

A Blue Flame in the summer sun,

we have let another fade Again.

Burn Like Stars and Light the Sky,

never letting them take your light.

Let your power engrave in their minds

before you sleep.

Take this one last piece.

You're My World,

and until Our Spring comes again,

we will all still be with u.

You are 1 in a million,

with a million and 1 standing beside you,

letting you on your way,

and promising to keep you Alive.

So Don't Worry,

we will be keeping watch All Night,

as you let your flame glow,

Because It's You,

our One & Only.

It is Always You.

We will come as One,

as you make your way

down the Starry Road,

and you will not be alone.

Referenced Songs: "Who" (First Word), "Lonely" (Line 4), "Fireworks" (Line 6), "Waterfall" (Line 7), "First Love" (Line 8), "Stay With Me" (Line 11), "24 Hours" (Line 12), "All Day" (Line 13), "Story" (Line 17), "You and Me" (Line 19), "Blue Flame" (Line 20), "Again" (Line 21), "Like Stars"/"Light the Sky" (Line 22), "You're My World" (Line 27), "Our Spring" (Line 28), "We Still (Be With U)" (Line 29), "1 in a Million" (Line 30), "ALIVE" (Line 33), "Don't Worry" (Line 34), "All Night" (Line 35), "Because It's You" (Line 37), "ONE&ONLY" (Line 38), "Always You" (Line 39), ONE (Line 40).

Referenced Album: "Drive to the Starry Road" (Line 42)*

*Last Full-Length Album ASTRO released with the original 6-member unit, featuring MJ (currently completing mandatory military service), Rocky (currently no longer a member of ASTRO), Moon Bin (deceased), JinJin, Eunwoo, and Sanha.

Thank you, and Rest in Peace, Moon Bin <3

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.