Poets logo

The Blank Page

A Bout of Writer's Block Caused by Current Events & Emotions

By Lizzy RosePublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
The Blank Page
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I cannot write today.

I cannot write

because the page

refuses to speak to me.

She is tired

of crying out in my arms

over the screams of children

dying in school hallways.

Her voice is silenced

by waves of Americans

begging to be allowed

to love and to live.

I cannot write today

because I have nothing left

To say to her.

I have spoken too often

of the depression,

the misery in this world.

Of struggles we created

and refuse to stop ,

and she tires of hearing it.

I cannot write today,

because I have written

far too much

for you to not get it yet!

I have written far too much

for you to not hear my words.

I have written in metaphor,

I have written literally.

I have written in hushed cries

and screamed my pain from rooftops!

So please forgive me,

because I cannot write today.

social commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.