Poets logo

Blue Haiku

Color Challenge

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
22
Blue Haiku
Photo by N Kamalov on Unsplash

For Poppy's colour writing prompt which you can read about below. Having read a couple of submissions for the color blue, I just couldn't resist.

Write a poem about a colour.

It can be a basic colour like blue, or a specific shade like cerulean. It can be about something or multiple things that are that colour or what you associate with that colour or even how that colour makes you feel. It can even be multiple colours, whatever you want.

This one isn't a competition, just a prompt, but I'd love for you to drop the links in the comment section if you take part, which I really hope you do!

https://vocal.media/poets/writing-prompt-86el08o0

My wife loves my eyes

Such blue she cannot help it

For her I’ll be sad.

humor
22

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Nice double meaning of blue, subverting it completely. Like the word play here.

  • That last line is haunting. Well done Randy

  • Bravoo

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Great, did you enter this into the Vocal Challenge. You definitely have the nicest blue eyes from your interview picture. I can see why your wife cannot help it 🙂👍

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Beautiful work!

  • Kelly Sibley 7 months ago

    Awwww, that's just so lovely.

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    Omg somehow I missed seeing this one. Sorry for the late read Randy! This is absolutely lovely. That last line just says so much and carried so much sentiment. Thank you for joining in on the prompt!!

  • Gina C.7 months ago

    Beautiful job, Randy! I wasn't expecting the "For her I’ll be sad."...but it was very clever and finishes this so perfectly 🥹

  • Lena Folkert7 months ago

    Oh my gosh. Loved it then saw the comments and had to reread like five times before I got it. Loved it!🫶👏🏻

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    LOL the end was so clever 😂. We have Blue Blue Eyes I guess!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Nice twist on "blue" 😁😁

  • I wish I had a guy write a Haiku like this for me: She always loved red I stabbed myself with a knife Would she love me now? Lol! I loved your Haiku!

  • Test7 months ago

    Oh I am so sorry, I thought I'd commented on this. Then had a moment of ...hmm maybe I didn't. That;'s exactly why I shouldn't sneak a glipse of the alternate univese when I am at work! Loved this -The last line is so clever and poignant. 🤍

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Ole Sad Blue Eyes. Your new name. Bad Blue Eyes is more like it. Ever so Randy, Randy,,,great name for a Randy. Oh dear, so sad. so bad.........🤔🤔

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    Wonderfully done, Randy

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • 🥹💙✌️📝

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Hahah! “For her I’ll be sad!” 👏😁

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Colleen Millsteed 7 months ago

    Lovely Haiku Randy. Who doesn’t love blue eyes….I can understand why your wife loves your colouring.

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I love it! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.