Poets logo

Blood Pressure and the Good Old Hockey Game

It Ain't Easy Being a Fan

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
19
Photo by Mufid Majnun on Unsplash

My brothers thought that it was dutiful

To introduce me to the beautiful,

Wild, exciting, good old hockey game.

At first, I wasn’t interested,

Thought my time was much better spent

On barbie dolls and hopscotch in the lane.

*

But as time went on, I grew to like

Those knife-footed ruffians on the ice,

It wasn’t long before they had me hooked.

Now fifty years on and I’m still here

Waiting for the Stanley Cup to appear.

Start the parade! I already got it booked.

*

I relax on the couch to watch the game.

I’m cheering loudly. I have no shame.

There are friends around, and drinks and snacks at hand.

With two periods done, we have a big lead,

But I want more goals. Don’t blame the greed.

It’s just that things don’t always go as planned.

*

The third period starts out in a frenzy.

The opponent’s scoring goals a plenty

The closer they get, the more I’m losing my mind.

They scored again! My hearts deflating

I think it needs defibrillating.

The enemy’s only one more goal behind.

*

My blood pressure’s rising through the roof,

I’m sweating like a pig that’s over-stuffed.

How will I make it through this cursed game?

The swear jar is getting quite a work-out,

A new clink with every vulgar shout-out.

I’m pretty sure I’m going quite insane.

*

Our best player jumps on, over the boards.

Victory is most certainly assured.

He’s on a breakaway, the fans scream and yell.

The goalie spears him in the nuts,

Before he gets to shoot the puck,

And now we got a benches’ clearing brawl.

*

He’s been awarded a penalty shot.

I hold my breath, and pray to hockey gods,

That it ends up in the back of the opponent’s net.

I scream out loud when the puck goes in,

I'm feeling sure my team will win.

I jump so high, on the cabinet I hit my head.

*

With the clinching goal now on the board,

Our victory is all but assured.

Just run out the last few seconds, and it’s done.

My bp’s back in normal range,

No longer do I sound deranged.

The game is over and yes, my favourite team won!

performance poetry
19

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    Nothing like sports to create some madness.

  • This captures the madness of sports so well, Cathy. I sometimes have to turn the games off just to avoid hypertension!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    This is how I feel about soccer, "football" in the EU. I had no desire whatsoever to earn the rules, watch the mayhem, sit in pubs with screaming fans and now here I am, especially if we are in a match with England. Loved this Cathy!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Hahaha this sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen. Love the descriptiveness of it all my friend.

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Wonderful poem! I love it!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Yeah!!!💕💖😊

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Nice! My team is pretty Wild!!💕😉

  • Clyde E. Dawkinsabout a year ago

    Absolutely beautiful poem about the greatest sport in the entire universe!!!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Excellent Cathy... You've penned another winner!!!

  • Great take on the challenge and I feel your pain and the pressure

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Loved it! Fun and entertaining as usual!! Great job!!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Fantastic fun with some really great rhyming, loved it!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Lol. What a great job

  • Katieabout a year ago

    That was a fun read! I felt like I was right there with you! I love the players described as "knife-footed ruffians."

  • Lol, loved the over stuffed pig and swear jar! Excellent execution of the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.