Poets logo

I'd Like to Report a Murder

Blame Abigail

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
26
Photo by Author

The call comes in at midnight, on this starry moonlit night.

“I’d like to report a murder,” she cries. It gives me quite a fright.

Such heinous crimes don’t happen, in our sleepy peaceful town.

But this lady sounds so frantic, and I can’t calm her down.

*

She screams in wild hysterics about the victim on the rug,

And the killer hiding under the tree, looking oh so smug.

I think my ears are deceiving me, or I’m having a crazy dream.

Did this caller just inform me that the perp is under a tree?

*

“Yes. She’s ‘neath my Christmas tree. Please send somebody, quick.

Her eyes are filled with rage and terror. She must have found the ‘nip.”

The caller’s sobs get louder. She’s afraid that she’ll be next.

“Please save me from the horrifying slayer. She’s looking truly vexed.”

*

I hear the sirens blaring. The cops break through her door.

“Put your hands up,” the orders barked, “and get down on the floor.”

“Oh no, not me dear officers,” the woman starts to wail.

“I swear I’m not the vicious killer. It was surely Abigail.”

*

The police don’t see a victim, just a tiny blue-tailed mouse

“But it’s me she’s going to murder,” yells the caller. “Remove her from my house.

“She’s hiding in the bedroom now. She took off like a zoom.”

The caller begs the officers to retrieve her from the room.

*

The officers go crashing, right through the bedroom door

Shouting “Get your hands up and lay down on the flo….HAHAHAHAHA”

I’m hearing waves of laughter,

My officers busting a gut.

The pic of the perp confirms my suspicion

This woman is f*cking nuts!

innocent

performance poetry
26

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    😂😂😂 Abigail for the win!!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    LOL Abigail strikes again!! 🤣🤣🤣

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Thanks for the laugh, I so love Abigail the cat. I can this a book compilation on Abigail, what a Queen.

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    So great! Gave me a laugh!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    OMGOSH! This is awesome! Love this one ❤

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    lol! Abigail is to cute to go to jail! ❤️ Well done!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is amazing and made me laugh!! Wonderful job!!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Hilarious and perfect! I hope this wins!!!

  • C.Z.about a year ago

    That’s hilarious, I love it

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fun read. Loving it!!!💕💖

  • You got me with 'little girl' in your aquarium story but not this time, lol! Also, the cover pic and the mention of Abigail was a giveaway 🤣

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Hahaha I love this so much Cathy. It’s got to be a winner!!!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Fun. Excellent Cathy. 🥰

  • That was great fun and no doubt another Top Story

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    I’m laughing, 😂😂 very cool

  • Syed Arabi Khaliqueabout a year ago

    I didn't know how it was going to end... The cat kinda caught me off guard.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Bahahaha. Great rhythmic flow and fantastic story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.