Poets logo

blind spot

step away

By TestPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
8
"Step Away" River 2018 watercolor and ink on paper

i found you wandering in my blind spot

yesterday

or the day before

mostly harmless, and confused

afraid to step forward

too frozen in step to fall back

you kept me on high alert

even though you were harmless

sharp as barbers shears

but harmless

they always joked

you kept me on my toes

no, my heels

ready to spin on a dime

just in case your edges got too close

when i slowed you stood forward

with a face that was almost mine

i used to know you

now, i'm not so sure

and you don't really want to know me

instead we can love each other from our blind spots

we took that adventure together

i wish i had sewn down your voice

to my ears

stapled your laugh to my wrist

so i could breathe you in

like a fine perfume

sometimes i wait for your nail gun

to attach your story to my back

i did not wince once

we watched them heal together

leaving memories to find

on days like today

remember when you laughed so hard

you left a mark on my soul?

your eyes sparkled that day

brightening your promises

we knew you were full of nonsense

we know we were full of nonsense

it was more fun that way anyway

i told you i loved you

you said it was impossible

but you'd take it anyway

you certainly could take

there are few adventures that weren't sparked by you

and dangers that linger now you are gone

do you love me?

looking back

i did not love you

we were too full of fire

melting our youth together

enmeshed in danger

i hope you are well

surreal poetrylove poemsheartbreakart
8

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.