Poets logo

elizabeth

and her king

By River JoyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
"Elizabeth" river 2020 charcoal on paper

elizabeth repeated herself

just one more time

love me

come back to me

just be kind

she turned away, her eyes were black

i cannot

your face it brings me back

it simmers slowly behind my eyes

looks back in the mirror so full of lies

oh how elizabeth begged

wondering where it would come

soon realizing her beast was there for fun

her partner long gone, flew the coop as it were

her beast pulled tightly and braided her hair

into his, not a care on his mind

with a laugh from behind

it bowed down with kind eyes

love me

she said quietly

pulled her hair gently

it all happened so fast

he thought it would last

she ran far away

with his jewels her to stay

what devil was she

what demon was he

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

River Joy

I make things with paint and words and light. I was once described as an asshole with Mr. Rogers vibes.

Facebook

[email protected]

Tic Tok Poetry Readings

Buy Me a Coffee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs2 months ago

    So graphic in so few words. This is great

  • Stephanie Hoogstad2 months ago

    How chilling! The last two lines “what devil was she / what demon was he” struck me in particular. You definitely stuck the landing there. Well done.

  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    Stunning River. I love the ambiguity of it most of all, its one I feel that I could come back to many times, and each time feel and think something very different about the narrative. That image of the 'black eyes; is so satrk and effective 🤍

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Superb and full of clever dynamics. You have a way with words and the feelings they carry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.