Poets logo

Blaming the victim

Trigger warning: rape

By Che'la McClainPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

It's never mattered that I said no.

Or that I pushed them away.

Their reasoning was and I quote "you were wet."

It had to be the signal to me wanting it.

That has always been some man's reason for explaining away why he did things to me when I pleaded for him not to.

Like they thought my vagina must've had a need to

be possessed.

And their dicks had a stamp of approval.

Cause

“I just want to make you feel good.”

My voice wasn't good enough.

My body was on their side.

So it didn't matter if the rest of me followed.

It didn't matter that my hands were gripping his

like a vulture clutching on to its last piece of flesh.

I was finally giving up.

I had gotten used to it.

They figured my body was asking for it.

They weren't used to rejection.

But this will never mean consent.

The excuse is brought up.

His dick made him do it.

He says he just couldn't help himself.

I wanted to comprehend why my body had betrayed me.

I never wanted to think about how fucked up they really were.

But I can't seem to forget.

The first one

He laughed and said "you really don't want to have sex with me.

I was disgusted.

He was amused.

I didn't scream because I didn't want people to hear me.

I can’t remember his last name.

That never made a difference.

The second one commented on my neck afterward.

“you look like you got beaten up.”

He was pleased.

I was discouraged.

He wanted to know if I had dreamt about it.

Would I be his girl?

The last one I only knew for a little while.

It shouldn't matter.

Time never made a difference.

Recently I read a quote that said “trauma survivors have symptoms instead of memories.”

Years later I'm becoming more aware of my symptoms.

Denying it can only get you so far.

And they've been a bit more aggressive lately.

The time it takes for a victim to come forward.

Shouldn't make a difference.

Do you know how hard it is to seem normal sometimes?

My brain has rehearsed every way in which people would condemn me.

When will our society stand up for its victims instead of re traumatizing them?

One moment.

I think my vulnerability is showing.

We are not eight balls.

You don't get to shake us up expecting a different answer.

I can now say “Yes they did rape me.

It's a reason why victims wait so long to talk about rape.

The tv lied.

My rapists didn't come through my window or follow me home.

And the fear of someone finding out is just as threatening as a knife to the throat.

They used to make me feel safe.

So excuse my confusion.

A man stated that this is why I shouldn't want to be alone with men.

Somehow I've never felt dirty

but I've always felt the need to apologize.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Che'la McClain

First time mommy with a creative side. I’ve been writing poetry for almost 15 years, I model, and I have an interest in photography. My goal is to be an entrepreneur who’s main source of income comes from her business.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Che'la McClainWritten by Che'la McClain

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.