Poets logo

Black Lives Matter

Don't silence yourself

By Danyelle LewinsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

This movement is back in action.

Not in a small way in a big way.

The hashtag is everywhere you turn

Am I defending the movement of course.

Will it be forever embedded yes.

Why is it not all lives matter..I’ll tell you.

All lives matter but its the black lives we lose the most.

Black lives cost so much more than another life.

Privilege doesn’t exist in the black community.

Unless you have a “white sounding name” you get passed over for a job.

You get passed over in life.

In my life... my husband’s life matters.

My brothers lives matter.

My nephews lives matter.

My nieces lives matter.

My uncles, father, and any friends lives matter.

I didn’t want to jump on this movement.

But if you know me I’ll always have something to say.

But I’m saying that to say this is bigger than anything.

Bigger than whatever we can speak.

Black lives matter because we are all human.

People that say deal with it.

Don’t know the struggle of being 3 steps behind in the race.

Guess what being a woman and being black is even worse.

That is being 4 steps behind in this race called life.

You are just help to some.

You aren’t seen as an equal.

I say I’m with you my black sisters.

I’m with you my black brothers.

I’m with anyone who is willing to stand.

Like I said before.. all lives will matter when black lives

mean more than a grain of salt.

AH

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Danyelle Lewinson

A little about me..I am a writer, a poet and a person that loves good music. I am still working on my first book as well

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.