Poets logo

Black

RIP To Those She Took From Me

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Black
Photo by Julissa Santana on Unsplash

I remember the first time

I tasted her on my lips

With a pink colored straw

I sucked softly

*

Crammed in a bathroom stall

at Marie Kerr Park

with two girls

I used to drink with

*

I sucked harder

and harder

until she knocked my head back

*

I remember the smell of her

It's the reason why

I can't drink dark roast coffee

*

It reminds me of the short days

when I inhaled her

chasing the dragon

*

It only took me 4 tries

until I was hooked

*

My body craving

the sensations she gave me

when her blackness boiled

underneath my lips

*

She knocked my head back

*

That's when I woke up

and I realized

that wasn't the life I wanted

*

That was the day I did what

I have never seen anyone do

after they tasted her addiction

*

I flushed her body

down the toilet

and never looked back

*

I could have flipped her

and made 4 bills

After all I got her for free

and she was high in demand

*

But I didn't want to be the reason

for anyone else's addiction

I didn't want anyone to feel that awful need

to chase that euphoric feeling

*

That day I did what I've never seen done

*

I hit it and quit it

before she lead me

down a dead end road

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.