Poets logo

Pawns

In A Game Most Don't Understand

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Pawns
Photo by Wander Fleur on Unsplash

He said he valued me

as a teacher

to show him the path to intimacy

Something he always struggled with

*

He said he valued

my open mind

That I could think outside

of what society prescribed

*

He said he valued me

for my authenticity

My ability to own all parts of me

good, bad, and usually unseen

*

He said he valued me

for my silliness

The way I could make him laugh

through the words I'd say

*

Then it all changed

That's when I realized

the one who had been manipulating him

before I came along

projected her tactics onto me

to change his perception

*

He said he thought I was using

intimacy to manipulate him

to keep him hooked on a line as bait

*

He said he thought I was insular

That the way I thought of things

was narrow minded and foolish

*

He said he thought my vulnerability

wasn't authentic

That he was sure I was hiding things

*

He said he thought my words

brought him

nothing but pain

*

He seemed to forget

all the times

my words brightened his days

Amnesia of all the times

I was there to support him

*

It was then that I realized

that we were both

pawns in her chess game

*

It's always those

with pure hearts

who fall prey

to the narcissist's game

*

A game I refuse to play

I walk away humbly knowing

not all pawns make it out the game

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.