Poets logo

Black Cats are Lucky

A little poem about my little Italy.

By Maddie M.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Yellow sunshine warmed the black cat

A symbol of luck, in my eyes

She is my one and only best friend

The one who doesn't tell lies

She came from the gray streets

Filled with mice and fleas

Right near the State Park fairgrounds

Where people consume nothing but cheese

Italy was fat too. Filled with kittens

Little babies who never made it—she was too sick

While my future cat was suffering

I was eating cheese on a stick.

One day, I made my way into the kill shelter

"I want the black one," I said

The black-and-blonde kitty put on her brakes

Then she bumped me in the chest, softly with her head

She claimed me as her own, so I took her, too

She meowed all the way.

I used my last $5 on this cat

Just to give her a cozy place to stay.

I have been so lucky since I got her

Dream job, dream boy, dream house

I'm a cat mom

and I get to work for Mickey Mouse

A friend is a soul who loves you

One that lets you talk until your throat is dry

My black cat is my yellow sunshine

Now I'm thriving, instead of barely getting by.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Maddie M.

I'm a creative copywriter by day and a fiction/non-fiction writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.