Poets logo

Puppies exacerbate problems in relationships, my therapist said

A poem about the truth

By Maddie M.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
2
My puppy nestled in my hoodie.

I had everything

And then nothing, all at once

A castle in the middle of the city

A sweet, fuzzy cat by my side

A boyfriend who loved me

And a puppy I took everywhere with pride.

We frolicked through green grass

Stomped on gray cement

Turned his paws brown

And he jumped into the blue

He shivered and shivered

I wrapped him like a burrito

Little did I know

It would be the last.

Financial experts on YouTube

They warned about this moment

"Don't play house" they said

Advice received too late

I came home from work

There was yellow, and brown

All over the floor

"You will not live here anymore."

And "It's your fault he pooed, now there's the door."

This poem is unstable

And so am I

I have BPD

A mood disorder galore

The first half of our relationship, plagued

By uncontrollable jealousy, red anger

I'm better now, with meds in tote

We fell in love again, just like I'd hoped.

But that was before the puppy

Now I'm just a cleaning machine

A failed one, you see

So I'll take my cat

And move back

To the city and the people who accepted me.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Maddie M.

I'm a creative copywriter by day and a fiction/non-fiction writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.