Poets logo

Black Box

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Black Box
Photo by Ryunosuke Kikuno on Unsplash

No one listens

They just talk

That’s why I like my black box

They only listen for something to use

To abuse you with

That’s why I like my black box

They only listen when you’re their prey

Until it’s time to walk away

That’s why I like my black box

They only listen when you whistle their toon

Be careful with what you say, before it becomes their harpoon

That’s why I like my black box

It always listens

It never walks away

It’s always here

Without judgment or fear

I can talk to it everyday

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    If only we could find a soul mate as present, devoted & trustworthy as that little black box.

  • This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved your poem!

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.