Poets logo

Birth of Colors Blind

Could we see if we just opened our eyes

By Daniel LestrudPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Birth of Colors Blind
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Would I see color if I had been born blind?

How does blue sound?

Would the blues truly be an emotional state if I listened to the music?

Could I see red? Could I feel red? Would red be my anger?

What does yellow taste like? Am I a coward if I do not know yellow?

Can I smell green? The fresh cut grass would splatter chlorophyll into the air as fresh cut arteries spray blood.

The orange juice would only be a flavor, but the flavor would be the color of the fruit I just drank.

Green and purple grapes would only be grapes.

Wine would still be wine, but neither would be red or white.

But I could know that I could have either from the same grapes.

White and black could be black and white.

I would never know a black and white television nor a color one.

Without sight, my colors would be sound, taste, touch, and smell.

The sound of the music or lawnmower.

The taste of my fruit.

How a peel feels smooth or bumpy.

The aerosol aroma of tearing into the flesh of the fruit.

After my day of sensory overload and I lay down for a nap.

When I sleep would I dream in color or black and white?

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Daniel Lestrud

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.