Poets logo

Big Brown African Lips

“Pay no attention to bullies, show off your big brown African lips with pride.”

By Fiona Teddy-JimohPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Big Brown African Lips
Photo by Prince Akachi on Unsplash

I was bullied because of my big brown African lips.

I went home and looked in the mirror.

I wondered why it wasn’t shaped like the other girls.

Big brown African lips.

I hated it.

Sometimes, I sucked my lips in to hide the shape,

Or wear red lipstick to hide the colour.

I pouted in pictures like the other girls.

I wanted to be accepted,

But they came for my self-confidence instead.

I went home and cried to my mum.

She kissed me on the forehead with her big brown African lips and said:

“Pay no attention to bullies, show off your big brown African lips with pride.”

She wiped my tears and said:

“They are just green with envy.”

She was right.

Half these girls now pay hundreds for lip fillers,

While I show off my big brown African lips with pride.

slam poetry
6

About the Creator

Fiona Teddy-Jimoh

Finding innovative ways to connect creative writing with technology in order to deliver an immersive digital experience.

My name is Fiona Teddy-Jimoh and welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.