Poets logo

Beauty And The Ignorant

A short poem about being a black girl.

By Fiona Teddy-JimohPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Beauty And The Ignorant
Photo by Clarke Sanders on Unsplash

In the past, back when I was growing up, it was constantly asked, "what would you like to be when you're older?"

Some said astronauts, others said actors, there were even a couple of zoo keepers and one wanted to be a journalist.

I said, "when I grow up, I want to have silky flowy hair just like the girls you see on tv, because the hair I have right now is making everyone laugh at me."

Now, today I wonder if the colour of my skin is to blame.

"You're beautiful for a black girl, but how come you braid your curls with synthetic hair? Don't you care for your heritage?"

I wonder if it’s worth my while sometimes to explain how hard it is to maintain these waves.

Once I wiped off my foundation and friends exclaimed, "I didn't know they had make-up for your people!"

I sighed and smiled, "Of course they do, we have insecurities too."

When I grew up I thought I’d be just like you, but it seems that being treated the same was just too good to be true.

If this poem resonates with your soul please do leave a ♥ and if possible, a tip️. Looking for more poetry? Check out my poem: What Have I Lost?

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Fiona Teddy-Jimoh

Finding innovative ways to connect creative writing with technology in order to deliver an immersive digital experience.

My name is Fiona Teddy-Jimoh and welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.