Poets logo

Better at Listening

Raised in a homophobic town

By Jae QilinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Better at Listening
Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

I'm better at listening

While the whole town goes gawking and talking

I'd rather just listen to it and repent

then re-pen it into an anthem

The community I grew up in would rather

gather and throw hate and slander

to a chubby guy that's now slender

He doesn't need this bother

He is still meeting his father

So yeah, I might be different, but at least I listen

It makes me want to jump off a cliff'n'rant

I'll still be a good listener

I'm still missing her

Sure, I may want a guy

but that's frowned upon in the public eye

I may also want a woman

Is that hard to comprehend?

Besides, it's like Woah, man

people are people

They're made to love

Now, don't be the person to shove me

Why does it matter? Because I used to be fatter?

I eat healthy now and work with sweat on my brow

I'm worried about my health and drink tea

Can't you all see?

I'm trying to get better, to become a go-getter

To everyone calling me a queer

at least I came back here

to try and fix my problems

to atone for them, not to continue to live them

so let me just drink my tea in peace

This should release some stigma

Why not grow up able to like both?

Because I've known I'm a pan man

since I was a teenager

Both ways have ups and downs

At least I'm not a scavenger

I know saying this will bring some frown

but we are all scared of the unknown

until we are grown and it is known

heartbreakinspirationalslam poetrysurreal poetry

About the Creator

Jae Qilin

Aspiring Poet

Profiles: https://solo.to/jae.qilin

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jae.Qilin

Discord: discord.gg/AbKARzVeQq

Be wary that my pieces are Copywritten, however, if accredited we can discuss terms

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JQWritten by Jae Qilin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.