Poets logo

Being in Dullness

Even your relics could not move me.

By Stéphane DreyfusPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
19

I saw your earthly remains and I felt nothing.

There was a time where I would have felt this nothing

Because I knew nothing.

Because I was cruel, and petty, and selfish,

as only humans can be.

Then there was a fire,

Lit in me that I could not, would not

dare

to stop.

Perhaps if you had revealed yourself then

I would have wept,

Or prostrated in public.

But now...

What should I call myself?

Apostate? Heretic? Normal?

You, immune in parinirvana, my pleas mean

something unknowable.

I know better than to ask these questions,

By Possessed Photography on Unsplash

To be scolded with a tale of patients with puncture wounds,

Too annoyed, too determined to know something,

Putting off the treatment because

They

Can't

Believe

The situation or that it could ever have come to be.

Now that your descendants have taken

Their pound of flesh.

Now that the nectar has been returned to

puss and blood.

Now.

I ache to be devout,

But the doors are closed in ways

None of us would have ever believed possible.

I am the disgusted zealot,

I am the disgusting failure to practice,

I am the one by the wayside,

Waiting for the path to practice me,

As all falls into incomprehensibility.

Dry and meaningless.

Magic has been scoured from my bones,

And when I see you,

Worse than nothing,

I doubt the truth of these baubles.

love poemssad poetry
19

About the Creator

Stéphane Dreyfus

Melanchoholic.

It’s just me. Growing old and wrong. A time lapse bonsai soul, clipped and curtailed in all the worst ways.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga2 months ago

    Your poetry paints a realistic picture of struggling with belief among the rubble of certainty, cutting deep into the complexity of religion and disillusionment.

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Wonderfully written and very deserving of the Top Story. Congrats.

  • This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Kyleigh Richard 6 months ago

    The flow of your words was nothing short of brilliant. Such a great poem<3

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    congratulations on TS. very well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.