Poets logo

Being born Non-Binary

Pride Month 2023

By Lucy TorralbaPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Like

Ever since I was a young kid I felt different compared to everyone else. As if I was some an alien pretending to be human.

While being a teen I was had so many thoughts of self harm and suicide. At the time I didn't know the true reason I was feeling this way.

I've been battling depression and anxiety since then. There are times when those thoughts come back to haunt me; yet I know in my heart that it's not what I truly want. I'd rather fight for the rest of my life than pretend to be someone I'm not and never have been

I didn't know that there were more than two genders until a few years ago. After doing a little research I found out that I have always been queer gendered. I was never a woman. I've always been Non-Binary.

It wasn't until a year ago or so that I tried to use different pronouns for myself instead of the basic she/her. They/them are the right ones for me. Even though most of my family doesn't know or respect my new self at least my immediate family does. I'm incredibly happy to be born into a family that is trying their best to accept me for the person I've always been.

While I know some of my family will ridicule me based on their beliefs or their small mindedness. I will no longer accept them as my family if they do not accept me for who I truly am. I've had to cut ties with some people in my past including family members. In the end this is my life. I will never go back to being scared, confused, and self hating again.

~

In the year 2019 I went on my first date with my life partner. He accepts me for the person I am and respects my pronouns. While I still have bad days he's always there to listen and make me feel better. I'm forever grateful for him and his family for accepting me with open arms. For the first time in my life I'm looking foward to the future with someone by my side.

social commentarylove poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Torralba

Just a writer at heart trying to tell some stories of my own. Currently working on one main story, will update whenever I can.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this. The hardest thing in life can sometimes be being oneself...no matter what the world says. ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.