Poets logo

Being an Adult

The feelings I have being an adult or trying to be

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Being an Adult
Photo by Rachel McDermott on Unsplash

This is not what I thought it to be,

This is not what I dreamed it to be,

ten years ago,

ten years ago, I had a dream,

or at least I thought I did,

A dream of where I would be,

being 25, alive and living my life,

A direction, a plan, something that I could understand,

where stability meets independence,

I had a dream,

That I made come true,

But now I'm not sure what I am supposed to do,

Get a degree they say,

Find someone to spend your days with,

make a house a home,

find what makes you feel like you belong,

I spend most my days on indeed,

scrambling to find something where I feel free,

and that feeds me,

Bills out way the adventure,

the rocks out way the miles on the road,

each day living on a high or feeling so low,

I don't know what to do in this adult show,

The dreams that I set,

Are not what I thought to expect,

dispositioned potential,

clouding my daily mental,

making me question where I belong,

Confused what I did wrong,

When I thought I did everything right,

I followed the light,

given to us by society,

creating a worker, not a creator,

being a follower not an instigator,

categorized as mundane and mediocre,

Filling my days with everyone and everything else,

and the days I have left for myself,

I am consumed on how I have felt,

I have lost my inspiration in life as a result,

I don't think I like being an adult.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.