Poets logo

Before you

A poem given to me

By Jake TrammellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Before you
Photo by Diana Schröder-Bode on Unsplash

“Before you

I was begging, pleading

to be loved”,

I thought I was better off alone,

Work. Work. Work. Till the day

I died alone. I know.. I know.

I begged for help.

I pleaded for attention.

I wanted to be loved the way

that I loved

“Clawing, pounding

at a door

That I thought would never open.

Because of you

I have comfort, safety”

I was comfortable with

The feeling of being uncomfortable.

I was used to the feeling

of being unsafe. That abuse was

waiting, around the corner.

waiting, to strike me down again.

Because I felt inspired by you,

I wanted to change myself.

To alter the flaws I found

in my own being.

I wanted to shed the layers of fear

built on top of me,

Because of that inspiration,

I fell in love with you.

I walked passed you,

hundreds of times before

While I begged to be loved,

To be seen,

To have comfort,

To feel safe.

You showed me,

We could do that together,

I just have to put in the work.

Although,

I think,

Because of me,

You closed the door.

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jake Trammell

I write things I could never speak aloud. Usually in the form of poetry or short stories. One day I’d like to write a novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.