Poets logo

Before we begin

a warning to my new lover

By AVBPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Be kind to me if I let you in

Be gentle to me if I let this begin

Be patient with me I’ve been hurt before

Be protective of me especially when I’m sore

In a castle my heart is kept

Out of touch in order to protect

It from being miserably hurled

Into the horrors of this world

Love can be so cruel

But I know it’s intentions are great

So before I let myself drool

Please know what’s at stake

I love deeply, at times too easily

For someone I’ve even changed my shape

I see myself now in the light of day

And I’ll learn from my mistake

Promise me you’ll take me as I am

Naked vulnerable and scared

Nothing less is what I’ll accept

And together we’ll rule the world

love poems
Like

About the Creator

AVB

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.