Poets logo

Been Told

Since Day One

By Vicious AvaricePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like

I was bone to play the part

Evil from the start

At least that’s what I’ve been told

Since they wrenched me from my mold

Two years old and sinnin

Yes my head was spinnin

The demon child of Saten

Least that’s what they’ve been sayen

And when I was a teen

Boy was I mean

Taking shit from none

Looking out for number one

Now that I’m a man

I do what I can

To hide the secret form of evil

That everyone says I have

I’ve never known it’s name

But it’s caused me so much pain

Never seen it raise its head

But I’m stuck with it til dead

And now here on my deathbed

A strange thought enters my head

Can you really be that evil

If you do good all your life?

The pastor takes this in

Utters the last words I comprehend

And the last words that I ever heard

“No I reckon not.”

artsocial commentarysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vicious Avarice

The ramblings of a man obsessed with fate. Poetry, quotes, and inspiration. I am a published author who rides the beast of imagination. A storyteller. Check out my children’s book “The Christmas Monster” on Amazon or wherever books are sold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.