Poets logo

Because…

A poem about the question I am always having to answer

By Nailah RobinsonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Because…
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I’m polyamorous

Because I’m a product of my environment

And I’m a fan of being honest

Polyamory was in my family

Cheaters were too

I grew up seeing both sides of the coin

I chose to be true

I don’t remember ever seeing a truly monogamous person

Everybody did what they wanted to do

That’s the way I wanted to live

Being free with the right to choose

I’m polyamorous

Because when I watched 90210 that day

I yelled at the screen “love them both

It’s okay”

I’m polyamorous

Because he was everything my mom could abide

But I could only see him when I was on her side

The guy on my dad’s side

Was everything I knew I had to hide

I’m polyamorous

Because the man I married was everything I said I would never date

I was mad at my current boyfriend

I was in another state

So what difference would it make

It was only supposed to be a summer fling

I was seventeen

This was never going to be a real thing

But neither of us would let it go

Even when I went back home

The vibe was strong

It never stopped me from being attracted to my actual type

Try as I might

Monogamy was just

Not for me

I’m polyamorous

Because I love fast

I love hard

I love love

And I play it with my heart

I never want to choose

It would tear my heart apart

The people who think too much with their minds

Tend to miss that part

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    This was a wonderful take on your situation

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.