Poets logo

Beauty for Ashes

spiritual maturity

By Natasha CollazoPublished 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Beauty for Ashes
Photo by chris liu on Unsplash

The incense of his cigarette linger's through my window;

A slight, but choking fragrance of lust

Flesh and bone are weary, but my spirit is enduring

There’s no hunger left.

I am bountiful and beautiful, skinny from starvation

I’ve made it to fall.

I’ve stayed long enough to see the harvest,

I've tasted the gulch.

Musky and Mossy, everything aches

Given unto me Beauty for ashes

I shall not faint.

Embracing my inner world

The agony becomes gently distant

Only upon the freedom that grace is sufficient.

A laborer in the field

Blood and bruises yield;

Bathing in the warmth of the creators shield.

Oh the valley of despair,

Resting on the promises of prayer.

Who am I? Or who to become?

Lies within the reigns, I surrender above.

Conquering another day, yet again,

to see

That’s when the warrior, was revealed in

me.

surreal poetryhow toinspirationalnature poetry

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism NYU **

Student @ American Writers & Artists Institute

Project: The diary of an emo Latina (2025)

Content and freelance creator

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Natasha CollazoWritten by Natasha Collazo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.