Poets logo

beating a dead horse

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
7
Photo by MART PRODUCTION from Pexels

you put me under unnecessary stress

you tied up my hands

in handcuffs and knocked me down

then

you kicked me while I was on the ground

all the time

I wondered why

you supported me first

you had me eating from your hand

like a hungry squirrel, distracted by noise, walks

to the nearest possible source of peace

then your calmness killed my guts

with morality issues, no doubt

being on both sides

was not advisable in this case

scraped off with just one false gesture

you have reduced your efforts

and I realised that it was you who helped them, not you who helped me

to become more powerful, while I chose to be remiss

all your gestures have gone astray

and I don’t see the point of why they were there in the first place

if we all ended up confused and covered in contempt

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

heartbreak
7

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.