Poets logo

switch sider

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Photo by Mikhail Nilov from Pexels

one day there, the next here

you have used me

there is no other way of saying it

they asked you, so you followed their brazen orders

hate or help

it doesn’t matter when you’re with them

provided you play the game

on behalf of someone else

with me as the main target

of this story that has not yet been told

and longing with readiness to develop

to every square and street of this town

they call it a city, I call it a sham

where few care

how your neighbour is doing

as they don’t dare to feel anything

carry on with their lives

as hard as they can heave

as loud as they can find air

in their lungs wanting to sing

but they fell

from the wrong cloud

and now

yelling at me;

you found challenge in the complaints

I found the challenge in the words

how can you learn from someone else’s predicament?

where did it all go

if not to shame?

soft words that will cover the most

of your seductive skills

as a spy closing in

on the most famous field;

you have become untouchable

like a musical idol on stage

with the guitar you used to play

and now your physical ailments

they reap their bloody harvest;

who you have become

if not a caricature of your previous precious role?

no longer flying

just standing hard on the ground

holding a whip that lashes deep

mercilessly into my skin

reminding

all male fights on me

although I was never against any of them

still, their betrayals of morality

have hurt me badly

and led me strictly

to reconsider the past choices of my heart

even though it was always automatically

geared towards love

the heart never learned, it just drowned

in an insurmountable amount of guilt

due to the lack of the thinnest connections to life

at least I tried my best

among my physical and mental ailments that are taking their toll

and they shout that it’s not my fault

so why do I even have to be in this place?

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Mescaline BrissetWritten by Mescaline Brisset

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.