Poets logo

Bear trap

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
4
Bear trap
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

death defying, leaping unbound

Caught up in your hummingbird throat

Warbling and swallowing my heart like a dying fish to a swarm of locusts

Bear trapped, my soul is waterlogged and plentiful to quench your pain

A salve that quiets the unending sorrows

You ask a trapped bear for a cup of sugar

To soften the bitterness of

Disarming into survival mode

For a heavy moment

You freeze and wait

Breath abated

Leaking too much fresh oxygen into my dying lungs

Bear trapped in deep foliage

Deer brings me water, fresh and cold from the fast moving stream

Deer leaps like a newborn

Free and unbound

From what may have been a ghost prison of their own making

Longing for a better trap

Longing for

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    I found the ending of this both sad and optimistic - Nicely done!

  • Fascinating imagery, leaving me unbalanced & unsure. I have no idea what this is about but I'm bound to ponder it for a while.

  • This may not be what you intended for readers to get from this poem but it made me think of the the saying, the grass is always greener on the other side. Your poem was extremely emotional!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.