Poets logo

Battles - How Can You Count Them All Joy?

A Song and a Poem

By Rowan Finley Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Battles.

How can you count them all joy?

Emotions turned into a toy.

Heart pounding.

Enemy's cries resounding.

Battles.

How can you count them all joy?

Strength to embolden and employ.

Mind bouncing like a ping pong ball.

My enemy sure has wicked gall.

Battles.

How can you count them all joy?

Because I know he cannot destroy.

Temptation rises with the moon.

These trials caused my heart to prune.

Battles.

How can you count them all joy?

Faced them even as a young boy.

What truly lies on the other side of them?

In deep waters I continue to swim.

Battles.

How can you count them all joy?

The tempter is rotten and viciously coy!

I now have a Friend who has been tried.

I now have a Friend in whom I will always confide.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    It is great to speak from the depths of your heart.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.