Poets logo

Barely Scraping By

Jealous of the One Percent

By MegPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Barely Scraping By
Photo by jose pena on Unsplash

I'm reluctant to admit,

I dream of being filthy rich.

Not to buy the latest fashion,

Or the new Nintendo Switch.

I yearn to awake feeling calm,

Knowing every bill is paid.

Have a full fridge,

And only buy fair trade.

I want to spend Friday nights

Treating my lover to fancy meals.

Ordering drinks and appetizers,

Not hunting for good deals.

If I had extra cash,

I would get an arts degree.

Spend the school year in a dorm,

Graduate to paint by the sea.

In reality, I wake up wondering,

If I can pay this month’s rent.

Barley scraping by,

I’m jealous of the one percent.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Meg

I'm here to explore the depth of human experience and to stop procrastinating my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jeffrey Sparksabout a year ago

    Brilliant. Wonderful read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.