Poets logo

Banana Pancakes

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
Banana Pancakes
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Sunday morning delirium,

waking up from dizzy dreams

and knowing I’m safe with you.

Every weekend was a getaway growing up,

No matter how heavy the school week was,

I knew I had banana pancakes with you.

I spent my childhood knowing

you’d always fight to keep me fed

with a roof over my head.

It didn’t matter where we were though,

As long as you were there.

I’d get embarrassed of your hugs as a teen

yet as an adult now I wish for more

knowing we’re miles away

and years from bedtime routines

and those Sunday banana pancakes.

For my mom, Teri.

love poems

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Gina B.2 years ago

    This is so sweet. Thank you for sharing!

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

  • Thanks for sharing 😊 It was a great read. All the best and happy writing.

  • John Eva2 years ago

    I just ordered pancakes thanks to this!

  • Vanessa Taveras 2 years ago

    Yummm!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    I am suddenly hungry...and miss my mom... 😔

Josey PickeringWritten by Josey Pickering

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.